Currency codes and restrictions


PayPal uses 3-character ISO-4217 codes to specify currencies in fields and variables.

Currency Currency code
Australian dollar AUD
Brazilian real 2 BRL
Canadian dollar CAD
Czech koruna CZK
Danish krone DKK
Euro EUR
Hong Kong dollar HKD
Hungarian forint 1 HUF
Indonesian rupiah IDR
Israeli new shekel ILS
Japanese yen 1 JPY
Malaysian ringgit 2 MYR
Mexican peso MXN
New Taiwan dollar 1 TWD
New Zealand dollar NZD
Norwegian krone NOK
Philippine peso PHP
Polish złoty PLN
Pound sterling GBP
Russian ruble RUB
Singapore dollar SGD
Swedish krona SEK
Swiss franc CHF
United States dollar USD

1 This currency does not support decimals. If you pass a decimal amount, an error occurs.
2 This currency is supported as a payment and balance for in-country PayPal accounts only.


Countries with Currency Restrictions

The following table lists the countries with currency restrictions that affect payouts.

Country Currency code Restrictions
Brazil BRL

Brazilian users:

This currency is supported as a payment and balance for in-country PayPal accounts only. If the recipient is not from Brazil, then PayPal converts funds into the primary currency of the recipient's account. The currency conversion rate includes PayPal's spread or fee.

Malaysia MYR

Malaysian users can:

  • Send payments in MYR to other Malaysian users.
  • Send payments in currencies other than MYR to all users.

Malaysian users can't:

  • Send payments that require exchange to or from MYR.
  • Send MYR balances to non-Malaysian users.


You won't be able to convert to these countries' currencies.


  • China
  • India
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Turkey

Caribbean and Latin America

You can send USD to these countries. The recipient can withdraw their balance in local currency from their bank.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Falkland Islands
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Automatic currency conversion

PayPal can automatically exchange payments to and from any of the following currencies:

Currency Currency code
Australian dollar AUD
Canadian dollar CAD
Euro EUR
Mexican peso MXN
Pound sterling GBP
United States dollar USD